Google Makes it Easier for Users to Delete Search History


Google is making it easier for users to delete their search history without having to leave search and go through multiple account menus.

Or, as Google phrases it:

“Today, we’re making it easier for you to make decisions about your data directly within the Google products you use every day, starting with Search.“

Without leaving Google Search, users can now review and delete their recent search activity.

It will also be easier for users to access privacy controls in their Google account.

Google briefly explains the data it collects on users as they search:

“When you use Google products, you generate data about your activity. For Search, this data includes the terms you search for, links you interact with and other information like your current location when you search.”

Now, users can easily review and decide what to do with that information.

Google has provided an example which shows how users can review this data on mobile.

Google Makes it Easier for Users to Delete Search History

On desktop, the data and privacy section is even more accessible, with a link right below the search bar.

Google Makes it Easier for Users to Delete Search History

From there, users can review their search activity and decide whether to delete the last hour of search activity or delete all search activity.

Google Makes it Easier for Users to Delete Search History

Previously, in order to access and/or delete this data, users would have had to go to their account page and navigate through a series of menus.

In other words, it was not nearly as self-evident as it is now.

From this same section, users can also adjust certain privacy settings, such as ad personalization and voice recording.

Subscribe to SEJ

Get our weekly newsletter from SEJ’s Founder Loren Baker about the latest news in the industry!

Ebook



Source link